On the Green
P.O Box 555
Bedford, New York
Tel: (914) 234-3642
Fax: (914) 234-9255
Email: info(at)vinwhit(dotted)com

Bedford N.Y.

Previous Image
Next Image

info heading

info content



 

 

With an abundance of horse properties and miles of dirt roads dating back to pre-revolutionary times, Bedford has maintained a majestic yet casual country feeling. Much of the land is open rolling fields, often enhanced with timeworn stone walls and tranquil ponds. For equestrians, membership in the nationally renowned Bedford Riding Lanes Association provides access to over 100 linear miles of country riding trails throughout the area.

The origins of Bedford date back to 1680 when 23 settlers purchased what was then known as the “Hopp Ground” and twenty years later, King William III made Bedford part of Westchester County. During the American Revolution, General Washington posted lookouts along Guard Hill Road which remains much as it was. Many elements of Bedford’s unique history have been kept intact. The land set aside by the early settlers as a grazing area for their sheep is now the village green. An eighteenth century court house and a one-room schoolhouse are among the buildings near the green which have been meticulously preserved.

The township of Bedford contains three distinct “hamlets”. Bedford Village is the original hamlet and it retains its colonial feeling. Bedford Hills houses the Bedford government offices and the Bedford Hills train station, which is within a one-hour commute to New York City. The hamlet of Katonah can be found in the northwestern section of the Bedford Township. The neighboring town of Mt. Kisco brings abundant shopping within minutes of Bedford. The Bedford Public School system has an outstanding reputation and some of the area’s top private schools are located within the town.